Pray that the Bedawi people will know God's great love!

Hi, my name is Bedawi. I'm 13 years old.

My home is in the country of Egypt. I live in the Eastern desert along the Nile River. 

See if you can find where I live in this map...

This is the tent my family lives in.

About Me
My job at home is to help my mother around our tent. We cook and collect firewood and water. I enjoy the days I can feed the animals, but that is usually my brothers' jobs. We have many sheep and a few camels. Once a year we have to pack up our homes and move to a new place for our animals to graze. 

My family lives in a clan with six other families. There are many other girls my age in my clan. We have fun dressing up in our mothers wedding dress, pretending that we are going to get married. Since I am 13 years old, my father is talking about marrying me soon to boy in our clan. My people usually get married between the ages of 12 and 18.

Every month my family travels several hours to a market where we can trade our crafts that we make in order to buy clothing, coffee, oil and other foods. I like these trips because my parents teach me and my brothers about the land. We learn how to use desert plants to make food, medicine, and tools.  

Tuesday, April 2, 2013 12:15 PM

Dress Up

Tuesday, April 2, 2013 12:15 PM
Tuesday, April 2, 2013 12:15 PM

I've told you that we have very few possessions so that it's easier to move all the time. So you can imagine how surprised I was to find my mother's wedding dress! She let me try it on and sometimes, with my friends we pretend to have a wedding ceremony. If we can find some, we pick grass and flowers and make necklaces and other jewlery to go with my mother's dress. Then we sing and dance after the ceremony to celbrate. It's lots of fun! 

« back

Post Comments


P.O. Box 117, Blue Ridge, VA 24064 | 540-765-4300