Remember to pray for the Pingdi people!

I'm Pingdi. I'm 12 years old. 

My family lives in Hunan, China. 

Our home is high up in the mountains! 

You can see where I live on this map...

My Village

About Me

I enjoy going for walks around my village. There in not much to do here besides work. So when I get a chance I like to explore the forests. It's hard living here because we do not have much contact with the outside world. All of our food and belongings must be made here in our village. 

I work in the rice fields most of the day then come home and help with supper. Our meal is usually rice with either pork or fish. For lunch we will eat soup. Every night I try to read some from the books my father got for me. He taught me how to read a little. We do not have a school in our village. 

In the winter it gets very cold where I live. I enjoy sipping on tea with my mama in the afternoons for a nice break on those days. Winter time means time for weaving and dying clothes. I am starting to learn how to embroider too. 

My Blog

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 1:49 PM

Handmade Toy

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 1:49 PM
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 1:49 PM

A few months ago a girl from my village was given a gift from her older brother. It was a jump rope. I think her brother brought it home from the city from when he worked there. 

I saw her playing with it the other day and thought it looked fun. I had an idea to use some yarn to make one for myself. I wasn't sure if my mama would let me have some, but she was happy to help me make one. We twisted several strands together and knoted it at the ends to make the jump rope. It actually works pretty good and it's really pretty too!


« back

Post Comments


P.O. Box 117, Blue Ridge, VA 24064 | 540-765-4300