Pray that the Bedawi people will know God's great love!

Hi, my name is Bedawi. I'm 13 years old.

My home is in the country of Egypt. I live in the Eastern desert along the Nile River. 

See if you can find where I live in this map...

This is the tent my family lives in.

About Me
My job at home is to help my mother around our tent. We cook and collect firewood and water. I enjoy the days I can feed the animals, but that is usually my brothers' jobs. We have many sheep and a few camels. Once a year we have to pack up our homes and move to a new place for our animals to graze. 

My family lives in a clan with six other families. There are many other girls my age in my clan. We have fun dressing up in our mothers wedding dress, pretending that we are going to get married. Since I am 13 years old, my father is talking about marrying me soon to boy in our clan. My people usually get married between the ages of 12 and 18.

Every month my family travels several hours to a market where we can trade our crafts that we make in order to buy clothing, coffee, oil and other foods. I like these trips because my parents teach me and my brothers about the land. We learn how to use desert plants to make food, medicine, and tools.  

Saturday, November 17, 2012 7:21 PM

Market Day

Saturday, November 17, 2012 7:21 PM
Saturday, November 17, 2012 7:21 PM

All month long I spend time preparing special crafts to take to the market and trade. I love making things like straw mats and woven rugs. I take time to make sure each item is perfectly made to sell. 

Once we have enough items we sometimes have to travel several hours to a marketplace. The trip to the market is always fun. (except for the bumpy camel ride!) I collect different plants on our trip to make medicines when we need them. It's very hot, so we always make sure we have lots of water. 

The market is always busy with people from all over. People come from hours away to sell and buy things. Last month I sold 3 straw mats, 3 baskets and 2 rugs! We had lots of money to buy food. I also got a new outfit and a juicy piece of fruit! I can't wait to go back next month!

« back

Post Comments

INFO@GPARTNERS.ORG

P.O. Box 117, Blue Ridge, VA 24064 | 540-765-4300

>